Post Content

CharlieTicket

The Commuter Deduction was enacted by the Legislature to cover specific commuter expenses. To help understand the deduction,  the Department of Revenue’s DOR University has released an e-learning module explaining what qualifies for a deduction, real-life examples and how you can claim your commuter deduction when filing a personal income tax return!

The Massachusetts Commuter Deduction applies to tolls paid on bridges, tunnels and roads through an EZ pass account. It also includes purchases of MBTA multiple-use weekly or monthly passes for the T, bus, commuter rail, or commuter boat.  The deduction is for amounts exceeding $150, but if you’re buying twelve monthly passes a year to commute, you may be entitled to a deduction of up to $750.  If you claim a dependent on your tax return, you might also have an opportunity to claim their commuter costs on your return. Some restrictions do apply and are thoroughly explained in the course.

This free e-learning module only takes about a half hour to complete, so take it today.  You may just get to put some money back in your pocket!

Written By:

Recent Posts

How does the CARES Act impact Massachusetts state tax? posted on Jul 14

The CARES Act was signed into law on March 27, 2020 to provide relief for individuals and businesses negatively impacted by the coronavirus outbreak. The Act includes provisions for both individuals and businesses. We’re going to help you understand the Massachusetts tax implications of the   …Continue Reading How does the CARES Act impact Massachusetts state tax?

Press Play: Billing to Resume posted on Jun 4

To give you as much time as possible to catch up on your expenses, DOR temporarily suspended some billing and various collection actions as a result of the COVID-19 health emergency. You can always see the balance due in your account and make partial or   …Continue Reading Press Play: Billing to Resume

What you should know about taxes if you are buying or selling masks posted on May 13

As you know, Governor Baker signed an order on May 1 that took effect on May 6 requiring Massachusetts residents to wear face masks in public when they cannot properly socially distance. Many Massachusetts-based companies have been stepping up to meet the demand for non-medical   …Continue Reading What you should know about taxes if you are buying or selling masks