Post Content

StMarysSta_steeple%20copy

MBTA Transit Police are deployed across the system each day, checking for fare evaders.  More than 1,200 riders have been cited in 2009 for evading a fare. 

The fine for first offense is $15, second offense is $100, and third offense is $250. 

WBZ Radio this week captured a Transit Police Sergeant in action on the Green Line. 

Watch the story. 

Written By:

Recent Posts

MassDOT Underscores Importance of Avoiding Distracted Driving posted on Jun 16

MassDOT Underscores Importance of Avoiding Distracted Driving

The Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) is underscoring the importance of removing distractions while driving, urging drivers as summer vehicle travel increases to please pay attention to the road, reduce speed and drive hands-free of devices. The Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) has recorded 53,638 motor vehicle citations which includes 40,181 warnings for distracted driving since the Baker-Polito Administration’s “hands-free” law took effect on February 23, 2020.

Transportation and Wildlife Officials Band Peregrine Falcon Chicks at the Gillis Bridge Nest Box posted on Jun 16

Transportation and Wildlife Officials Band Peregrine Falcon Chicks at the Gillis Bridge Nest Box

The Massachusetts Department of Transportation, (MassDOT) in collaboration with the Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife’s Natural Heritage and Endangered Species Program (NHESP), is announcing the successful banding of two male peregrine falcon chicks from a nesting box on the Gillis Bridge in Newburyport.

Registry Announces Appointments for In-person Transactions are Continuing as State of Emergency is Lifted Today posted on Jun 15

Registry Announces Appointments for In-person Transactions are Continuing as State of Emergency is Lifted Today

The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) is announcing that many of the new initiatives that were put in place to provide additional flexibility for its customers during the COVID-19 pandemic, will continue as the State of Emergency in Massachusetts is lifted as of today, Tuesday, June 15.